GHANA: 53 YEARS +1 day and counting

Posted on March 7, 2010

0


HAPPY BIRTHDAY GHANA, MY HOME

FACEBOOK:

me firi (I come from) Ghana


GHANA MART


Ghanalinx Group


I am a Ghanaian


Servanthood Ghana


FRIENDS OF THE MOTHERLAND


I LOVE GHANA


modernghana

ghana-market


My, my all these new facebook groups celebrating Ghana. A lot, I’d venture to say, have memberships mostly comprised of Ghanaians in the Diaspora nostalgic for home. I’d guess that they probably feel helpless and exasperated that they can’t contribute directly to national development. Let’s hope they realize they have to come back to make a difference and they have to stop sending their money-no.3 in foreign exchange earnings or should I say takings. Foreign money, be it in the form of remittances or aid, creates a culture of dependency and guile-everybody trying to get their share of windfalls-thus compromising doing good for the common good.

The message below appeared on March 1st:

talkofgh

http://www.talkofgh.com IT’S MONDAY MORNING, THE 1ST DAY OF THE THIRD MONTH OF THE YEAR IN WHICH OUR BELOVED GHANA WILL TURN 53. YES, 53 YEARS OF FREEDOM AND OWN RULE. WHAT DO YOU THINK HAS BEEN DONE SO FAR TO IMPROVE OUR COUNTRY AND WHAT MORE NEEDS TO BE DONE? LETS GET TALKING!

MADINGHANA’S RESPONSE: No, let’s start acting!

Come back.

Posted in: AID, Diasporan issues