GHANA’S DIASPORA: DOES ANYBODY WANT US/THEM BACK?

Posted on April 17, 2012

2


This comment came following my last post on National Noise Awareness Day yesterday:

“Submitted on 2012/04/16 at 9:53 pm
I surely hope you get this problem fixed. One of the issues that drove me from Ghana. I used to take out books from the Ashanti Library at the Cultural Center (is it still there?) and bring them home. However I had to take take the trotro to secluded spots miles away to read them. There was a hosanna church at the corner that meet 24 times a day (at least it seemed that way), a lotto kiosk about 50 meters away blared loud music from dawn to dusk, etc. When I talked to people around about doing something about the noise all around, they said I was the oddball and that I could move if I couldn’t put up with it. Well, guess what, ultimately I moved.. over 6,000 miles away.

Kwasi Appiah
Chicago”

The comment is sad, but perfect. Believe me…I didn’t write it. It represents the reality of what many from the diaspora go through when they return with all good intentions. Soon they realize that their residential neighbourhoods have been polluted by noisy businesses thus compromising the quality of life they came to expect in foreign lands. They may try to rectify the situation, but alas nobody thinks like they do and it’s not long before many high-tail it back abroad…much to everyone’s relief, I might add.

My theory, and we are all entitled to our opinions, is nobody wants these people/us back in Ghana….they want their money…they’ve been used to receiving it….after all, cash remittances to Ghana by the diaspora is number 3 in foreign exchange earnings in this country behind cocoa and gold. Why would anybody want them back when all they’ll do here is join the struggle to survive, to make ends meet?

Anyways, has any citizens’ group ever taken action against municipal authorities for not doing their jobs and protecting neighbourhoods. NO! Who cares about the quality of life in residential zones… the attitude is just build your wall higher or move…or leave!

Incidentally, in the title, I write “US”, for after all Charity and I are from the diaspora. We lived here throughout the 70′s, left for 20 years all the while building our home here in Kumasi, Ghana in this first class residential neighbourhood, which we use as a small B & B where, I like to say, we sell silence-or at least try to….

FOOD FOR THOUGHT….COMMENTS/OPINIONS/STORIES WELCOME….ESPECIALLY SOLUTIONS

Posted in: Diasporan issues