NATIONAL SERVICE SPEAKS OUT FOR PEACEFUL ELECTIONS

Posted on May 11, 2012

0


I bumped into a group of National Service personnel the other day. These are university grads doing their bit for national development. It is a compulsory two-year program, I think. I couldn’t resist asking for a picture. Well, one of them turns around and gives me two fingers for peace and another one for emphasis to boot! PERFECT!

Now, I’m not asking my trade organization, The Ghana Hotels Association, to have shirts made for its members although it might be a good idea to promote discussion between hotel owners and staff and their clientele. Anything to promote dialogue!

Hey, wouldn’t it be something if the Ghana Hotels Association, organizes an event the theme being:

ACHIEVING VIOLENCE FREE ELECTIONS IN 2012.
THE ROLE OF THE TRADE ASSOCIATIONS

All I’m asking is the National President of the Ghana Hotels Association and the other associations under the GHATOF (Ghana Association of Tourism Operators Federation) umbrella in the hospitality sector speak out on behalf of the private sector!

FLASH, FLASH: MAY 11TH: This article appeared in my inbox THIS MORNING just before posting the above.

Lots of data to champion the importance of tourism to Ghana! How about this for starters:

“Africa was the fastest-growing region with an increase of over 7% in international tourist arrivals thanks to continued growth in Sub-Saharan Africa (+7%).”

