WHO GIVES A HOOT? MADINGHANA DOES, FOR ONE.

Posted on July 12, 2012

1


It happened a few days ago…at 6:00 am…just behind us. I was in the bathroom. I looked out the window and there the culprit was….a taxi hooting for his passengers to arrive. Fortunately, there was somebody passing who I asked to get the driver. He did and I remarked quietly that people were sleeping, that here is a guest house and next door is a hotel, and not to use his hooter. And that was that.

Then this morning, it happened again, but this time I was just on my way out of the house. I ran around to the back of the house and caught him just before he drove away. I reminded him that I had asked him to stop and then I spoke to the two poor little girls that he picks up first at 6:00 AM.

ME: What time are you picked up daily?
GIRLS: 6 am
ME: So what time should you be out here?
GIRLS: 6 am
ME; No, you be out here at 5:55 am. Why?
GIRLS: So we’ll be able to get in the taxi right away.
ME: That’s right. And then he doesn’t have to hoot and disturb all the people sleeping around here. Do you understand?
GIRLS: Yes.
ME: Good. You be early, not late like everything else. Ghana has got to change and it’s got to change with the youth.
and off they drove….

Hooting unnecessarily is a national problem and finally attention is being brought to the issue by the EPA with the bumper sticker above. Bravo!

And take a peek at page 11 from the latest DUST Magazine out of Accra:

Check out No. 4! You can’t! Well it says something to the effect that despite all the hooting in the City of Accra the accident rate has not dropped. The same goes for the country of GHANA…

I’ve always wanted to do a poll:

QUESTION: WHAT IS THE MOST PREVALENT REASON FOR HOOTING IN GHANA?

A. WARNING/EMERGENCY
B. GREETING FRIENDS OR FELLOW TRO TRO DRIVERS, TAXI or TRUCK DRIVERS
C. CELEBRATIONS LIKE FOOTBALL GAMES, FUNERALS
D. SOLICITATION TAXICABS AND TRO TROS FOR PASSENGERS
E. WAKING UP WATCHMEN/HURRYING UP PASSENGERS

Hope you give this some thought. If I forgot a reason, let me know. And of course, answer the question.

Now I’m going to go to the EPA to pick up more of the stickers. Two places where I am going to place them are on the warehouse gate across the street and, you guessed it, on the back of the taxi that comes to pick up the two poor little girls.

MADINGHANA, you big bully…they really must think you are mad…not making a difference…

