KOFI ANNAN’S QUOTE

Posted on October 7, 2012

0


Kofi Atta Annan is a Ghanaian diplomat who served as the seventh Secretary-General of the United Nations, from 1 January 1997 to 31 December 2006. Born in Kumasi (note madinghana’s city now) April 8, 1938 (age 74)

I have an iPad. I just downloaded the TED TALK and the TED BOOKS apps. This morning I watched a brilliant talk Don Tapscott: Four principles for the open world which I share here. I also shared it on my Facebook page with the following comment:

“Brilliant-think in terms of Ghana climbing slowly out of a feudal society-there is hope-it has started.”

Anyways, after listening to the talk and reflection on what it means for Ghana which is starting to move out from under the yoke of controlling institutions-chieftancy, church and government, I went to the TED Books app and there staring me in the face was the TED Book CITIZEN ADVOCATE: Get Government to Move Mountains and Change the World by Omar Ahmad.

So I start reading and bang it hits me right between the eyes beginning the first chapter, a quote by Kofi Annan. Gawd, the epitome of Ghana’s brain drain loss and why Ghana is Ghana. Whenever I talk about Brain Drain I continue the thought saying “leaving the bullies” That is the feudal kings, lords and barons….

Anyways, here’s the quote, under the chapter heading “We need you”

No one is born a good citizen; no nation is born a democracy. Rather, both are processes that continue to evolve over a lifetime.-Kofi Annan

One of the technological wonders with TED Books is you can comment as you read. Mine is the first comment for this book!

“I live in Ghana, a country that has lost its finest. It is truly ironical that the We need you section starts with a quote from a guy who is really needed in his own country where all the brains have left. Ghana is a feudal country, an autocracy where citizen advocacy is termed “troublemaking”. That’s why I am reading this TED book, honing my unsophisticated skills. There is so much to do-I must learn to focus my efforts-one challenge, strengthening the Ghana Hotels Association here in Ashanti.”

That’s all folks…more on strengthening of Ashanti Branch of the Ghana Hotels Association in the next post, I hope.

