PRECURSOR TO NEXT THREE POSTS…”WE DARE NOT FAIL.”

Posted on July 19, 2009

0


I’d like to quote  two documents which underlie my mindset  living here and  creating this blog to make a difference (MAD in Ghana).

FIRST there is the GHANA NATIONAL  PLEDGE. I was here in the 70’s when Joe Appiah wrote it.  I  recited it daily, hand on heart,  along with about 400 students and over thirty staff at 7:00 a.m. Morning Assembly at Akrokerri Teacher Training College where I worked for six years from 1973 to 1979.

Now I say the Ghana National Pledge weekly at our Kumasi East Rotary Club where I serve as Club Secretary.

KUMASI EAST ROTARY CLUB, JUNE 24, 2009

KUMASI EAST ROTARY CLUB, JUNE 24, 2009

Here  is The Ghana National Pledge. In brackets in italics is my adaptation.

GHANA NATIONAL PLEDGE:

I promise on my honour to be faithful and loyal to Ghana my motherland.

(my adopted land)

I pledge myself to the service of Ghana with all my strength and with all my heart.

I promise to hold in high esteem our heritage, won for us through the blood and toil of our fathers;

(the)                                   (all)                                                         (the)

and I pledge myself in all things to uphold and defend the good name of Ghana. So help me God.

SECOND, there is the ROTARY 4 WAY TEST which I’ve recited these past four years since I joined Rotary here in Kumasi.

It reads: 1. IS IT THE TRUTH?

2. IS IT FAIR TO ALL CONCERNED?

3. WILL IT BUILD GOODWILL AND BETTER FRIENDSHIPS?

4. WILL IT BE BENEFICIAL TO ALL CONCERNED?

And last I’d like to include here a quote from our President of Ghana John Atta Mills:

“We are managing the affairs of state, not as a right, but as a privilege to deliver on our “BETTER GHANA” pledge and we dare not fail.”

YES, MR PRESIDENT, WE DARE NOT FAIL.


Posted in: BLOGGING