BACK IN THE SADDLE AGAIN

Posted on December 5, 2009

0


It’s been nearly a month since my last post on funerals. For a  while there I thought there was a touch of irony in that post. I sure felt like mine was in the cards. I got bushwhacked  by the FLU. I wonder if it was the dreaded swine flu. Anyways, Four Villages Inn is a great place, Nyame Adom, God Bless.  At that very time the first symptoms were ambushing my system, we had a public health nurse from the States, staying with us., her third time back.  She came to my rescue and gave me a course of the  magical TAMIFLU capsules and that did the trick. But oh, it’s been a long road back. Needless to say I wasn’t too encouraged by all the reports coming out of the Canadian press of healthy people in their fifties croaking.

What’s more, my timing couldn’t have been better. We were busy and Charity had to carry the ball alone. Now don’t get me wrong. I don’t like dumping on Charity. It was who we were busy with that was significant. At that very time we had three officials from the City of Kitchener, Ontario, Canada  carrying out a project with the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly. It was their second stay at Four Villages Inn. Me out of the picture meant no Chris Scott biasing their opinion on the quality of the personnel at  the K.M.A., the mayor’s office.

If you have been following this blog, you know what kind of opinion this guy reserves for the K.M.A.

So I’m back despite a friend’s concern that this blog gets too political…

Well, despite the evidence that the rule of law does not work in this country, this guy still believes that no matter how fragile a democracy is, it must be tested. I truly think that’s why things get worse, not better, here in Ghana. Democracy here is NOT tested. There isn’t an active citizenry, few civil society organizations  and thus elites steamroll their greedy, misguided agendas daily year in and year out. Why? Lack of education, poverty, fear, history…What’s your take on this?

Enough…time to blast away…Hiho Silver away….hee, hee….

Posted in: BLOGGING