PAPAYA: ADDING VALUE IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE

Posted on December 15, 2009

0


Papaya or pawpaw as it is known locally is in season now. From time to time Roger our gardener appears with the fruit of our trees.

ROGER WITH WONDERFUL PAWPAW

It’s served in a wonderful fruit salad at breakfast at Four Villages Inn and it’s also made into a splendid pawpaw jam if I do say so myself…

Now a post without an edge just would not be a madinghana post, would it?

It is so easy-adding value to papaya, blend it, add sugar, a little pectin and voila.

But do ya find any MADE IN GHANA jam on the shelves of supermarkets here. NOT A CHANCE. The main seller is Geurts jam from, hold onto your hats…HOLLAND. It sells at GH C 5.50 a jar, and a small 390 ml jar at that…that about US$3.75. IMAGINE For jam?

I’ve been wanting to share my secret with the competition at the Ghana Hotels Association….I must. Hey, that’s going to be my new years resolution. I’m always trying to embolden the association to take stands on local issues. Well, maybe I should start with something as a simple as papaya jam mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

