FOUR VILLAGES TO THE RESCUE! LARIAM & A MEDVAC BUNGLING

Posted on February 28, 2010

0


Did you realize there is a “test” to pass if you want to be medvaced out of Ghana by a certain company?

You can’t be able to get up out of bed and pack your suitcase. If you can, no matter how sick you are, you don’t qualify!

But let me start at the beginning…out of the clear blue I got a call from the States, “This is Molly. I stayed with you at Four Villages in 2006. Do you remember me?”

Now there is no forgetting Molly because she arrived in a private Challenger jet here in Kumasi-not an everyday occurrence. Ya see she was travelling around the world with Tony Edwards and his family. Tony Edwards, in case you didn’t know and I didn’t, is a big TV star on ER. Molly was the children’s tutor. What a gig! we know we got fabulous e-mail updates as Molly proceeded around the world.

“Sure I remember you, Molly! What’s up?”

Well to make a long story short, Molly’s friend had phoned her hysterical about the fact that her daughter was violently sick in a clinic near the Accra airport. She had been sick since arriving in Ghana on January 6 where she attended the University of Legon as an exchange student from the University of California at Santa Cruz. She had been released from a hospital and had tried to go home unaccompanied by any medical personnel, but had collapsed at the airport and was taken to the airport medical facility. She was alone and really sick-not responding to any drugs.

Molly asked me if I knew any doctors in Accra who could intervene. I told her I had a good doctor friend who lived here in Kumasi, but who had been here a long time and had contacts all over.

I phoned Dr. K. who asked all kinds of questions and particularly wanted to know the girl’s mobile/cell phone number. I phoned Molly back and gave her Dr. K’s number so they could talk directly.

Well, it turns out that Dr. K’s husband Dr. P was in the air flying to Accra at that very minute on his way to Accra to proceed on to Egypt. But he had time to visit the sick girl and to arrange for a doctore friend to check-up on the girl.

He recommended that any drug regimes the girl was on should be terminated.

The next call I received was from the mum again saying that he daughter had experience chest pains and had been prescribed nitroglycerin. Also she said that another patient had been medvaced out to Europe. Apparently there was only room for one patient on the plane, as is often the case, and the daughter could apparently get up and pack her bag and thus did not qualify.

FLASH FLASH:

Paloma is home! This e-mail just came:

Greetings Chris, I was delighted to get your e-mail. Yes, Paloma is home and we are so happy to be with her. Thank you for everything you did to come to our aid and assist us. We are all so appreciatative to you and to Molly. Best of everything to you. Could you send me contact info. for Dr. Peter and Dr. Katheryn ,other than a phone number as I would like to properly thank them as well. All the best of everything to you, my deepest thanks, Brenda

Well, there were no details on how she got home. Your guess is as good as mine… Anyways I googled the company and up came a notice stating the company was looking for agents in Ghana….

I guess the lesson in this is to check the medvac conditions with your insurer and beware of LARIAM also known as MEFLOQUINE.

