KUMASI: OLD BEKWAI ROAD-WIDEN & CONSTRUCT SILENT POLICEMEN

Posted on May 28, 2010

0


I usually have a Friday routine…I pay taxes, fees and levies and…..then I hit government departments to try to get action on the taxes etc. Four Villages Inn pays. Amazing aye? ‘Aye‘ incidentally means ‘isn’t it’ in Canadian. Incredibly, and it is a fact of life here in Ghana, not a lot of people see the connection between paying taxes and the improvement in the quality of their lives.

Understandable, I guess, when most people keep saying, “Why pay taxes? The money will just go to enrich some politician or official and his family.”

But I persevere…I am a persistent ole dog. As always, the issues are from around here. There are so many from around here. I often wonder if it’s everybody that has so many issues from around where they live …..If so, this country is surely in a tail spin.

The Old Bekwai Road, which is to be widened in the future, saw yet another accident. See the post dated May 10, 2010 entitled KUMASI; DEATH ON THE OLD BEKWAI ROAD for a report on another recent accident). This time the accident involved a taxi and a school bus.

TAXI IN ACCIDENT


Fortunately, this time no death was involved, which is a miracle when you look at this picture.

SCHOOL BUS ACCIDENT ON THE OLD BEKWAI ROAD


The accident took place at the bridge crossing the Washie River, just up the road from the large two story private school being built close to this busy road.

OLD BEKWAI ROAD JUST PAST WASHIE RIVER BRIDGE


The school bus involved was from another private school located way off the main road in a residential neighbourhood.

A number of years ago, and I believe I’ve mentioned this in past posts, I approached Urban Roads, Kumasi requesting the construction of rumble strips and/or silent policemen along this stretch of road in the valley between Ahodwo and Daban where the road is somewhat more narrow. The response from Urban Roads was no reply despite the fact that Four Villages Inn had offered to pay for the materials if the Department of Urban Roads provided the manpower.

Well, armed with these photos, I’ll try again. I also hope to enlist the help of the proprietor of the private school under construction near the site of the accident. I hear he is a public official which should help. And I’ll approach the owner from the private school whose bus was involved in the accident.

HEY, IT’S FRIDAY! THANK GOD IT’S FRIDAY! TIME TO GO. BARK, BARK, WOOF, WOOF

Posted in: Uncategorized