MADINGHANA’S ONE AND ONLY NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION….PART ONE

Posted on January 22, 2011

0


O.K. enough procrastination on this post on my new year’s resolution…I know better than to resolve not to procrastinate…Or, maybe I’m holding off on this post so I can report the successful resolution to my resolution! That won’t happen…

My longest friend Nana Amoako Agyeman a.k.a. Rod McLaren, has made a resolution.

madinghana wishes him all the luck in the world. If Nana can’t do it-he’s one persevering and persistent fellow, then nobody can.

An aside: While madinghana came to Ghana in the same year as Nana and has actually lived here longer than Nana, he has no desire to become a Ghanaian citizen whatsoever. Enough said….

Anyways, like Nana, madinghana has but one resolution….less lofty than Nana’s, but as elusive….like Nana he’s been trying a long, long time to accomplish this-as a matter of fact since 1999 when he returned Ghana after twenty years living back in Canada.

Curious? it’s to have the Electric Company of Ghana electrical meter removed from THE POINT, the apeteshie-moonshine- bar located behind us on the plot next to Four Villages Inn in this first class residential zone.

THE POINT

Call me a first world bully…that, in essence, is what former City Engineer Ampomah-Mensah called my wife Charity back in July, 1999 when she first went to his office to report that the bar was getting increasingly disruptive. His reply to her complaint: “You and your friends can sit in your air-conditioned houses sipping champagne and lemonade, but some people have to make a living….”

Well, since then, madinghana has made countless efforts at THE GHANA TOURIST BOARD, ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AT THE KUMASI METROPOLITAN ASSEMBLY, THE KUMASI METROPOLITAN TOWN AND PLANNING DEPARTMENT, AND THE ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY…all with zero success to get rid of the bar.

So I had a brain wave…well if I can’t get authorities to get rid of the ugly noisy cluster of structures in no-man’s-land, partly on an unfinished road in this first class residential zone, I’ll get his electricity cut.

At first, I reported to the E.C.G. Loss Department that The Point had an illegal hook-up only to discover Nana, another Nana by the way, the owner of the Point, had an authorized Electricity Company of Ghana meter.

So it was off to the S-W Kumasi E.C.G. building near Santasi Roundabout to inquire how that could happen. The Technical Officer explained that when the hook-up was done THE POINT must have had ‘a temporary structure permit’ that had to be renewed every year. He directed he back to the K.M.A. City Engineer’s office.

YES, FULL CIRCLE-11 YEARS LATER! BACK TO THE SAME OFFICE.

So last Friday after paying Four Village’s Inn’s DECEMBER VAT-it empowers me-makes me make the extra effort to try to get a return on the Four Villages Inn tax cedi-I went to the City Engineer’s office armed with a letter requesting they check to see if the Point’s Temporary Structure Permit had been renewed and if not to write a letter to SW E.C.G. Kumasi to instruct them to disconnect the line.

I saw the Assistant City Engineer who took me to the Development Control Unit. They know madinghana there. I had recently protested a large development nearby….Anyways, Mr. Essiamah, in charge of the D.C.U., was not around, but one of his officials said he would visit The Point. I said I hoped his visit was not obstructed….

Well, yesterday, a week later, a team of five from the K.M.A., two officials and three black-shirt K.M.A. guards , went first to THE POINT and then here to report to us. They said they have given The Point two weeks to vacate the premises.

Well, how exasperating…I explained that my letter to the Office of the City Engineer that the leader of the team was actually holding stated that we only wanted the E.C.G. meter to be removed….

He also said that on Monday Charity and I were to go to the Office of the City Engineer for a meeting with Nana, the owner of The Point….Incidentally, for those that don’t know Nana means chief. Nana is also a komfo, that’s a fetish priest. Maybe…..na…..the plot thickens…

Ugh….I expressed that I just wanted them to do their job that this was not a situation that demanded conflict resolution. I was assured that there would be no begging and promises….

So….I’m posting this and you can catch Part 2 next week!

