MADINGHANA’S ONE AND ONLY NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTION: PART 9

Posted on March 2, 2011

2


Bet ya thought I had fizzled out…no way…after all remember I have only one resolution….

Well, March 1st marked two months passing since making of my one and only New Year’s Resolution: to have the electricity cut at the apeteshie bar behind us. Well, there’s been a number of visits to the K.M.A. City Engineer’s office and a killing behind us….but I do declare I am a step closer. Allow me to continue the story…

AT THE K.M.A. CITY ENGINEER’S OFFICE
On Friday, I went to pay the Four Villages Inn January VAT, and right nearby is the City Engineer’s office at Jackson Park. Charity quietly reminded that me I might drop in to see what was happening after my two letters and a promised meeting with Nana, the fetish priest, who killed the suspected thief. (ha)

Anyways, I get to the Assistant Metro Engineer’s office, we exchange friendly greetings and I mention that I’m just from the VAT service, that I feel empowered to get a return on all the taxes our enterprise collects to make Ghana better. I even showed him the receipt which he took the time to look at.

I then asked him what’s happening regarding my request for a letter to the Electricity Corp of Ghana (E.C.G.) to disconnect the apeteshie bar behind us.

He said that he had had Nana, the apeteshie owner, in his office recently. I said that wasn’t good enough. I asked him how he would like to have an apeteshie bar behind him and showing him the<a href="http://<a href="newspaper article“>newspaper article “> newspaper article how he’d like to have somebody shot behind his property. I said that Atasomanso is a first class residential zone and that we pay the highest taxes in the city and that we pay the highest rates for electricity in the country. I said that Nana is nothing but a squatter. I also asked how could he have a Temporary Structure permit for eleven years?

I said that if he wrote the letter I would deliver it to Prince, the technical officer at South West, E.C.G. He wrote the letter, had it typed and out I walked….

When I got home I told my son Frank. His reaction, “That’s huge Papa! Nobody does anything here.” I replied, “Now, now Frank, don’t get to cynical, you just have to persevere and not fizzle out.”

LETTER FROM THE OFFICE OF THE K.M.A. CITY ENGINEER TO THE ELECTRICTY CORP. OF GHANA

AT THE E.C.G., SANTASI, SOUTH WEST:

I go to Prince, the Technical Officer. He reads the letter intently. He sends me upstairs to the District Manager. I leave with Prince the newspaper article narrating the killing at the apeteshie bar behind us. I tell him I’m going to ask for his opinions next time I see him…

Upstairs I see the District Manager. I introduce myself and give him a brief history of the situation. I give him the letter from the Assistant Metro City Engineer. He asks why should the electricity be cut at the apeteshie bar. I explain, and it’s not in the letter, that the bar is in no-man’s land, partly on a road and it is in a first class residential area.
He raises his voice asking why the apeteshie bar hasn’t been demolished. I say that it was not only legitimized by it’s presence there for the past eleven years but the Electricity Company of Ghana also legitimized the structure by installing a meter, a legal hook-up. I said that the city couldn’t possibly raze the structure with the meter there. He said there would be nothing stopping the owner buying a generator and staying there. I said we would cross that bridge if or when it comes. Then I give him a copy of the <a href="newspaper article“>newspaper article again saying, “How would you like this going on behind your house?”

He said he would take care of it. Did I denote a hint of reluctance in his voice?

Blogging tip: Don’t be afraid to copy the same link (the newspaper article)at three different places in the same post. It strongly reinforces the stand you have taken!

