HAPPY EASTER…

Posted on April 25, 2011

0


Happy Easter. Monday night. Been busy all weekend. “Don’t complain about too much business,” says Dr. Nic Moga from small town Minnesota, a recent past guest and new friend.

So here I am back to madinghana after too long an absence-so much to blog…it’s mind bloggling really!

Anyways, I stick to the immediate. Tonight I went out for supper alone to the restaurant my departed, to Canada, wife and I go to all the time. I’ll give it a plug-BONNE ARRIVEE in Ahodwo-it’s Ivorian and it’s good!

When I enter, there are two kids, undoubtedly a brother and sister, sitting alone with big plates of food in front of each them.. Wow, how strange…I am not the only diner, but two kids?

I eat; they eat. Time passes…then the lights go out and… the conversation begins. There is something about the blackness of the night. Our spirits light up…perhaps that’s Africa in a nutshell.

We exchange names, and ages, and pursuits. The older of the two, a girl, is 16. She goes to the top school for girls in Kumasi, Wesley Girls, wants to be an actress or a stage designer or a graphic designer and her role model is Jackie Appiah. The boy, 10, goes to a private primary school and he wants to be a doctor.

I tell him I hope he becomes a doctor and that he stays in Ghana. I tell him that there are more Ghanaian doctors in the city of New York alone than there are in the whole country of Ghana. I tell him Ghana has so much disease and sickness and misery-adults and especially children…. that doctors are so important for development…that Canada and United States and Britain and Germany and France and all the other western countries don’t need Ghanaian doctors, but Ghana does!

Now remember, this kid is 10! Hee counters that doctors here don’t make much money and that when he comes back and changes his money he will have a lot!

Ugh….I say, the money is not why you become a doctor…you become a doctor to help people where help is needed, where people, especially children, are suffering. I said that I hoped he became a doctor to help people in GHANA.

The lights came back on, Always the teacher, I asked them if there is one thing they should tell their parents about their talk with the obroni what would it be….silence….I answered my own question, “there are more Ghanaian doctors in the city of New York alone than there are in the whole country of Ghana”…I say good-bye and Happy Easter.

Calling Dr. Nic Moga ….

