ROTARY: A NEW DIRECTION FOR KUMASI EAST ROTARY CLUB…

Posted on July 21, 2011

8


To follow my criticism of aid in the previous post, I want you to see that I’m here and I see what goes on….

Rotary Club of Kumasi East Banner

Two weeks ago I attended the regular weekly meeting of the Rotary Club of  Kumasi.  It is the parent club of my Rotary Club of Kumasi East. Present was a member of a U.K. ROTARY CLUB out to visit project sites here in Ashanti where his U.K club has provided financial support. At the meeting he told our combined memberships of all the work his club did  in the U.K. raising money for “2 local projects and 1 international project” per year. His enthusiasm was contagious….

The very next day, my Kumasi East Club met and my President asked me to give a short report on the meeting we had attended the previous evening. I related the above and I couldn’t help commenting that I wish that our club would focus on initiating, fundraising, and carrying out our own projects like the U.K. club did instead of acting as a clearing house and agent for foreign clubs through 3 H projects, matching grants and district grants.

President of Kumasi East Rotary Club, Rotarian Tony

Well, yesterday, our new Rotary President Tony,  in his acceptance speech during his formal induction ceremony, quoted me,  Rotarian Four Villages, saying he hoped to take our Kumasi East Club in this  direction.

At the same ceremony, the new executive committee and chairpersons were also inducted.

EXECUTIVE AND COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS 2011-2012-ROTARY CLUB OF KUMASI EAST

Posted in: AID, ROTARY