KUMASI: SIGN CITY, NOT GARDEN CITY, OF WEST AFRICA!

Posted on January 19, 2012

2


I’m in Montreal now. How do I know? Fewer outdoor signs than Kumasi that’s for sure.

I also know I’m in Montreal because twice a week I buy a Lotto 6-49 ticket. What would I do if I won a sizeable jackpot?

I’d buy Mayor Samuel Sarpong, Chief Executive of Kumasi, a round trip ticket to Sao Paulo, Brazil’s largest city of eleven million and fourth largest city in the world.

Why? Because Sao Paulo banned outdoor advertising five years ago and this is the result….a more vibrant city

Hopefully, our mayor Sarpong might meet Gilberto Kassab, the populist mayor of Sao Paulo who enacted “The Clean City Law” amidst all the controversy and opposition. The irony here of course is Kumasi’s Mayor Sarpong is not an elected mayor but rather an appointed mayor. He would have nothing to lose, and Kumasi would have everything to gain. Kumasi could then live up to its name THE GARDEN CITY OF WEST AFRICA and remind the world that it’s a city’s inhabitants and cultural heritage that bring the true flavor.

