FOUR VILLAGES INN HELPS PROMOTE ADANWOMASE KENTE VILLAGE

Posted on October 2, 2012

0


Eric, Head Guide @ Adanwomase

Recently, on my good news blog, www.fourvillagesinn.wordpress.com, I posted a celebration of Adanwomase, a kente village located just outside Kumasi, a favourite with Four Villages Inn tourists.

On Saturday, I took guests there and while guide Raphael was taking my visitors around the village, I had a chat with Eric, the officer in charge. He said he wanted to come to Four Villages Inn to have a talk about ideas to get more people to visit his village. I remarked that I had noticed from the Visitor’s Review Book how few people came to visit…

I said, “Why wait till then? We are near the end of the month and the Ashanti Region Ghana Hotels Association meets on the first Thursday of the month at the Golden Tulip-Kumasi City at 10:55 am. Why don’t you come and make a short presentation and pass out your lovely new brochures.”

I continued saying I would inform the Chairman of the Ghana Hotels Association, Ashanti Branch, that I would introduce him to the members saying that for years I had been taking guests there to learn about kente weaving and to tour the village. I said I would also remind the owners and managers that the more visitors have to do in Kumasi, the longer they stay and the more revenues they make. Also when the people go back to their home towns, they’ll say there are interesting things to do in Kumasi. That’s better than them returning home to say there is nothing to do, nowhere to go so nobody comes!

Eric said that he would make the association a kente banner like he had made for Four Villages Inn.

“WOW”, I said. “And I’ll make sure it is proudly displayed along the head table at our monthly meetings.

I finished off saying I would phone him leading up to the meeting and to come around 12 noon since more members would be present as meetings start late.

Afterwards in the car driving to our next stop, I told my passengers about my conversation with Eric. Two of my passengers live here in Ghana and work at a mission. They said that they had visited Tafi-Atome, the other kente village in the Volta Region. Two weeks later they had gone back to the same village to visit with other friends and they were surprised that nobody had visited in the intervening time!

THERE AREN’T A LOT OF TOURISTS COMING TO GHANA AND YET THIS IS A PEACEFUL COUNTRY WITH LOTS GOING FOR IT!

Follow up after Thursday…

