No political will to develop tourism: theory no.6

Posted on March 2, 2013

6


Courage and Dr. Kofi Amoah

My sixth theory is Why develop something that has been developed and that is celebrated! I refer to that mystical, mythical statistic of Ghana receiving 1,000,000 tourists a year which I’ve heard time and again over the years. In fact, I heard it just the other day quoted by Ghana’s illustrious Dr. Kofi Amoah, a.k.a. Citizen Kofi of Western Union fame. He was speaking at his Alma Mater Opoku Ware Secondary School here in Kumasi and quoted the statistic in context with all the great qualities of Ghana. I arrived at the event through my facebook friend Dumega Courage, a Barcamp Kumasi live-wire, pictured on the right with Citizen Kofi.

But let’s get back to that questionable statistic one million tourists a year! HA! I don’t think that number is accurate even if the diasporan Ghanaians are counted as tourists which they are definitely not. Now, with the oil boom, so many business travellers, extractors I call them, are descending on Ghana and particularly Accra. Well, at least they are staying in hotels and eating in restaurants. But still, one million. No.

But maybe Citizen Kofi really believes the one million stat. After all he’s a smart guy making money with his entertainment group with his flagship enterprise The Republic of Kofi which has been mentioned before on this blog. Anyways, as emphasized in the last post, it’s all happening in Accra; no Republic restaurant in the ghost city of Kumasi where he once was a shoeshine boy in Kejetia and Adum.

If you read the comment after the post mentioning the Republic restaurant by Festus, this leads me to the next post on Cape Three Points and Escape Three Points where I just returned from-gawd a sentence ending with a preposition-where is my mind going…hee, hee. And oh yes, Citizen Kofi did mention Cape Three Points in his speech!

Posted in: TOURISM ISSUES