SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISAS TO GHANA: FACEBOOK GROUP

Posted on May 1, 2013

2


star-better2

HAPPY MAY DAY! It’s morning and it’s raining here in Kumasi. Decided to do some real work on Worker’s Day, like create a Facebook group to advocate for something I am passionate about….TOURISTS COMING IN THEIR NUMBERS TO GHANA!

Here’s my inspiration. Yesterday our son Frank told me he had been talking to a friend back in Canada who was really upset by Canadian Prime Minister Harper’s proposal to shut down the air cadets’ gliding program in Canada. Well, this morning, what do I see? A Facebook page entitled Saving Air Cadet Gliding creating awareness towards the issue.

Then coincidentally, I saw on my madinghana.wordpress blog that I had six views so far this morning and one of them was GHANA: SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISAS-UPDATE from June 11, 2012. If you really want to get some background on the issue just search ‘scrap short-term tourist visas to Ghana’ on the madinghana blog. I just did and THERE ARE 19 ITEMS! Guess I’m the veritable broken record…must be doing something wrong… advocacy is tough anywhere, but here…oh…

Anyways, here’s a description of the group:

“This group seeks to advocate for change in Ghana’s increasingly stringent regulations regarding the procurement of short term tourist visas to Ghana. This situation has the potential of thwarting the development of the Ghanaian hospitality sector, a major source of wealth creation in Ghana and employment. We encourage people, tourists as well as owners and workers in the sector, to share their stories and ideas on this subject.”

(oh, forgot to include Ghanaian authorities monitoring tourism and immigration)

HOPE YOU JOIN AND CONTRIBUTE AND SPREAD THE WORD!

Note: I copied the Ghana Immigration Service’s web site banner because tomorrow I will email the acting director of the Ghana Immigration Service, whose email address is progressively included in the contact us section of the web site, with an invitation to join the group and contribute.

COP DR. PETER A. WIREDU (Ag Director of the Ghana Immigration Service)

COP DR. PETER A. WIREDU
(Ag Director of the Ghana Immigration Service)

