AN IMAGINARY CONVERSATION; PRESIDENTS MAHAMA AND ZUMA

Posted on May 7, 2013

1


20130507-094703.jpg

This is fiction. It was only written with the intent to promote thinking and discussion on the scrap short term tourist visas to Ghana issue. Join comment and share the FB group and sign the petition.

President Mahama (PM): Hello, Jacob, thank you for hosting me and my delegation here in Pretoria.

President Zuma (PZ): You’re welcome, John. Say I read your book My First Coup D’Etat. It got you into a little hot water I read. I’m thinking of publishing my own memoir. Could I have an introduction to Andrew Solomon. It won’t pose any problems for me here in South Africa.

PM: Enough, Jacob..let’s talk about things important…

PZ: Sure, how about tourism..Did you know that 1 in 12 people are supported by tourism in South Africa? What about in Ghana?

PM: Hmm, I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

PZ: And tourism contributed directly and indirectly 7.9% of GDP or R190 billion in 2009 and we are aiming for R500 and 15 million worldwide visitors by 2020, realizing US$75 billion tourism revenue per year and creating 225,000 new jobs by 2020

PM: Wow, how do you do it?

PZ: Well, John, it’s hard work and we do invest a lot into the sector. You know the ole saying, “No pain, no gain.” But talking specifics, we have policies in place to facilitate easy entry for tourists to S.A. So important, John. And then, we have entered into reciprocal agreements with certain counties, like Benin. Citizens of both countries can enter without acquiring a VISA.

PM: Say Jacob, why don’t we sign an agreement like that, you and me, Ghana and South Africa. We have a large S.A. presence in Ghana

PZ: Not so fast John, my father-in-law was just telling me about all the hoops he has to jump through to get a short term tourist VISA to Ghana. In fact, this will be his second time to Ghana and he told me it is harder now to get the VISA than a few years ago.

PM: Tell you what Jacob, on my return to Ghana I’ll have a word with the sector ministers and department heads and see what can be done about this situation. No promises to your father-in-law though…

PZ: and another thing we do is market S.A. aggressively. You must have seen our CNN campaign. It cost a fortune, John. But the returns…oh, la, la!

PM: Which brings me to the real reason, why I’m here…S.A. assistance for Ghanaian infrastructure projects.

PZ: Hmmm, it all depends on tourism revenues, John, ours and hopefully yours.

And just before you go, I read in your book you are working on a second book…any ideas for a title.

PM: Bye, Jacob….

INVITATION WOULD YOU LIKE TO CONTINUE THE CONVERSATION…COMMENT BELOW AND I’LL PUT IT ON THE SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURISM VISA TO GHANA FB GROUP PAGE.

Hope you enjoyed this…I look forward to your feedback.

Posted in: Uncategorized