WORKING AND WALKING FOR SCRAPPING!

Posted on June 4, 2013

3


Wow! What timing! How topical! An article posted on the How We Made It in Africa. It encapsulates the reasons I started the SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISAS TO GHANA Facebook group page with 250 friends and growing and the Change.org petition that has already gained 111 signatures since I started both on May 1st, Workers’ Day. I was tired of blogging one theory-here’s no.9-after another why there was no political will to develop tourism and wanted to actually work to do something about it.

Anyways, I was not surprised to see that this article on the popular African web site-HOW I MADE IT IN AFRICA-did not appear on the Ghana Tourism Authority facebook page Tourism in Ghana, this despite my sending the article twice to the fellow who keeps up the site-who probably wishes he had never met me-first by facebook message and second by email. Poor Kojo!

So tomorrow morning, if it’s not posted I’ll post it myself!

And, lastly, if you’ve got this far…I’m off to Accra. Yes, I’ve got a meeting with Chief Director at the Ministry of Tourism Mr. Okyere-Darko Ababio at 10 a.m. on Thursday, June 6th. Just off the phone with him at around 4:30 pm when he said, “If I am unavailable, you will meet with one of my directors.” UGH.

I travel 272 km to meet the Chief Director, who the Minister of Tourism referred my letter to, and he says right at the end of our conversation, “If I am unavailable, you will meet with one of my directors.” UGH, AGAIN. BUT I KEEP ON WALKING.

and walking

banner picture on the GTA Tourism in Ghana FB page

banner picture on the GTA Tourism in Ghana FB page

….

