GHANA TOURISM: IN PROFILE

Posted on September 13, 2013

6


photo (83)

Bet you thought this be a treatise on the glories of this wonderful, peaceful nation and all it has to offer. Suppose you expected to see pictures of ominous slave castles, spectacular waterfalls, endless beaches lined with waving coconut trees and the glorious smiles of Ghanaians. After all, I am the fellow who initiated the FB group SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISA TO GHANA and the @visafreeghana twitter account.

No, for me tourism is all about this vegetable lady pictured at the back door of Four Villages Inn… I’m prompted to write this post following a spirited, exhausting conversation trying to convince Ghanaians of the benefits of scrapping visas on a Ghanaian FB group (10,100 members) page which right now I choose not to identify. And I choose not to identify the member of the group who wrote this comment..for obvious reasons..let me tell you, if I were her white father, I would be most upset at such a disparaging hostile comment:

“With a white mother I know what foreigners want and believe me it is not in the interest of the locals. Let Ghana grow organically. We do not need those jump starts that will not work in the best interest of the country!!”

So here’s our vegetable seller and her daughter and her vegetables…. I don’t know if they are grown organically or not, but I do know she, and tens of thousands like her, is carrying a heavy load, particularly that one on her back. She desperately wants to give her daughter a better life than the one she’s had. Maybe go to school…one place she never had the opportunity of going… whatever for sure is she’s going to do it here…here in Ghana…probably here in Kumasi..

So how can that happen, how can her quality of life improve for herself and her daughter? Simple, more guaranteed sales…maybe a standing order from Four Villages Inn..that’s what gives people a sense of things getting better, a sense of security and well-being…

THAT MEANS INCREASED BUSINESS! AND FOR THE TOURISM SECTOR IN GHANA THAT MEANS INCREASED INTERNATIONAL LEISURE TOURISTS!

2 poster on business
The poster above is from the FB group Out of Poverty: What works when traditional approaches fail
YES, BUT IS…..photo (93)???????????????

