DAILY GRAPHIC FAILS TO PUBLISH “SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISAS TO GHANA” OPINION PIECE IN SEPTEMBER 27 WORLD TOURISM DAY PRINT EDITION

Posted on October 6, 2013

0


water theme world tourism day

This is the FB banner page of Samuel K. Obour, social media editor of the Daily Graphic, who accepted my opinion piece on SCRAPPING. Here’s what I wrote on his page,”Great banner on this 27th of September WORLD TOURISM DAY. The theme for people who don’t already know it is “Tourism and water: protecting our common future”. Here’s another caption for the cartoon, “Hey, the government won’t consider scrapping short-term tourist visas to Ghana to promote tourism, so they raise water rates 52% to promote tourism giving tourists more photo ops taking pictures of our women carrying water on their heads.”
addition here: TOURISM IS NOT A SECTOR, AND WATER IS NOT A SECTOR, THEY ARE PEOPLE!
photo (99)
Well, my article NEVER appeared in the print edition of THE DAILY GRAPHIC! The whole idea of the article was to take the campaign from an on-line social media audience to reach a wider audience, the off-line sector…the biggest audience in Ghana given that internet penetration is only about 5% of the population at best. I think the omission from the print edition is just another indication just how sensitive visa facilitation and simplification is in Ghana. Silence all around….

Since then though Mr. Obour has been very conciliatory….he’s explained that he is only responsible for the on-line edition where the article did appear on the 27th September. Here’s our FB messaging:

Christopher Scott
Hello, Just back from Istanbul. I was there during World Tourism Day…in which edition was my opinion piece printed…I don’t see it in the 27th Sept. edition, that is the edition printed on September 27th! Just have the online edition link..

Samuel K. Obour
10/4, 8:07am
Samuel K. Obour
I’ll follow up on this, sir.

Christopher Scott
Thanks.
Today

Samuel K. Obour
5:56pm
Samuel K. Obour
Sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused. I was on break from work, only resuming last Monday. I had someone send the article to the Features Editor, with a plea that it should be published in the paper on August 27 – World Tourism day. I’m sorry it wasn’t published. I’ll ask questions, and keep you apprised.
Christopher Scott
5:59pm

Christopher Scott
September 27th, not August 27th! and it was published on September 27th, but on line…where few will see it!
too late now…but please I would like to see it in print-please with an intro by yourself the social media editor explaining that it was slated for publication on the 27th September, but only appeared on line…

Samuel K. Obour
6:09pm
Samuel K. Obour
I meant September 27, not August. Sorry about that, sir.
Your request falls within the domain of the Features Editor. I can only put in a word. Getting it published online was within my domain. What I’ll do is to follow up on the article at the Newspaper Department. Please bear with me.
Christopher Scott

Christopher Scott
6:23pm
Christopher Scott
I thank you Samuel. I just wonder if it wasn’t run because of its sensitive content critical of a cabinet minister..her comments are verifiable on the net…today the President of Ghana posted on his face book about Ghana being a model of democratic governance…a free press is essential to this assertion.
photo (90)

Christopher Scott
6:24pm
Christopher Scott
I look forward to receiving notice that my opinion piece has been published.
Long live democracy in Ghana!


THE STORY CONTINUES….

