WHY NATIONS FAIL

Posted on October 10, 2013

1


I went to Istanbul, Turkey on the spur of the moment to visit Orhan Pamuk’s Museum of Innocence…I’ll blog what I hope will be short posts on my trip, actually this is my second post…

When I was at the duty free at the Istanbul airport buying another Orhan Pamuk book, the person in front of me was buying the book WHY NATIONS FAIL.. I smiled and when he saw my purchase he too smiled. I wanted to remark on his book saying I had read it, but he left abruptly…I later saw the same gentleman waiting for the plane to Ghana…I smiled again…to myself!

Why Nations Fail

The basic premise of the book WHY NATIONS FAIL is summarized succinctly by another one of my favourite authors Thomas Freidman in this cogent review of the book:

“Nations thrive when they develop “inclusive” political and economic institutions, and they fail when those institutions become “extractive” and concentrate power and opportunity in the hands of only a few.”

Hmmmm…I’d say my fellow traveller flying Istanbul to Accra picked up the right book to take to Ghana…enough said…SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISAS TO GHANA

