TOURIST VISA REQUIREMENT TO GHANA: A LETTER OF INVITATION

Posted on December 1, 2013

2


I know, I know….Chris, your campaign set too high objectives…scrapping tourist visas, why just didn’t you try for visas on arrival as many have hinted at…

Actually, maybe we should have just set the bar lower at scrapping the ridiculous letter of invitation! Yup, in Canada, tourists to Ghana have to provide a “An invitation letter from invitee with a copy of a photo ID”. I thought the Ghanaian Embassy in the United States had scrapped that requirement as it was cut from their web site, but alas, this email arrived:

“Hello Charity and Chris,

I am hoping you can help us with one detail we need to obtain a visa to Ghana. The Consulate called today after receiving our applications to say that they need a letter from you confirming our reservation for the _____and ____of ____. It needs to list our three names: _____________________________. And it needs to be signed by you and emailed back to them at:

ghanaconsulate@aol.com

I hope that it not too much trouble. If you are not able to do it, could you please let me know as soon as possible so that I can work out another way to get the visas? Thank you so much.”

I assured the guest Four Villages Inn would try its best, but we did suggest that the guest try another one of the establishments they had booked at….here’s the guest’s reply to that:

“Thank you… I appreciate your help. I will also try Coconut Grove, but they have not responded to me yet. I have obtained a lot of visas in the past and find this requirement a bit unusual. I am really sorry to trouble you.”

An aside: remember the Coconut Grove is that high end resort owned by Paa Kwesi Nduom, national politician. This establishment continually wins awards all over the place…appeals to help champion Scrap have always fallen on deaf ears from Coconut Grove and its powerful owner…and yet it too is affected by these “unusual regulations” probably more so since it is a very high profile business in Elmina, Ghana’s tourism mecca….

Enough…

So, right now, I’m in the process of creating another signed form letter with current ID..to be posted in the comments presently.

But why, whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy??????????????

