Kumasi: Famous in Nigeria as the Sign City, not the Garden City, of West Africa

Posted on April 16, 2014

0


Wow, I knew Kumasi had an issue with outdoor advertising billboards, banners, etc, but for it to reach the notice of Nigeria….. Well it has! If you’ve followed this blog, you know I have posted a lot on this problem over the years. So when I saw the title of the article So Much Clutter In Outdoor Advertising In Ghana and clicked on it, I wasn’t at all surprised to see that all the photos were from….Kumasi.

Kojo Bonsu, Kumasi mayor

Kojo Bonsu, Kumasi mayor

But reading the article, I was surprised to learn that there is a 100 m between signs regulation and that some cities in Nigeria have regulatory agencies to monitor the sign situation. Does Kumasi ever need that intervention.

Now you might think that business is booming here in Kumasi….well, it isn’t! I would hazard a guess that more signboards advertise religious conferences/retreats/prayer camps etc. than products or services.

And while I’ve got your attention, one of my biggest beefs is the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly charges a signboard fee for the signboard outside your business, the one that locates you! This is on top of the Business Operating Licence fee. Four Villages Inn took its signboard down when the fee climbed from GH C40 to GH C 100 in a two year span…

