HAPPY INTERNATIONAL NOISE AWARENESS DAY 2014. REALLY! (1)

Posted on April 30, 2014

0


Yes! I know I celebrated the day on this blog early, actually on April Fools Day!

Now, I suppose you want to know what happened at The View. Well, the municipal employee in charge of environmental health for this area, Mr Adams by name. called both of us for a meeting. I picked up Richard, the assistant manager of The View and we went to together. The one comment I remember making to him was, “He might think it is you and me against each other; but really, it’s also you and me against him. Do not, and let me repeat, do not give him a bribe. He is doing his job in this democracy. He is resolving our difference amicably, that is non-violently.”

Well, we had the meeting. he lectured us and Richard from The View apologized and asserted that it would not happen again. Then Mr. Adams surprised me. He said that he wanted The View to write a letter with a copy to Four Villages promising not to disturb the neighbourhood again. The meeting concluded and I drove Richard back to The View.

Well, no letter…

Fast forward to today, International Noise Awareness Day. On my way to my regular Wednesday lunch time Rotary meeting, I stopped by the Environmental Health Office at the Nhyiaeso Sub Metro to wish Mr Adams, the local official who had handled our case A Happy International Noise Awareness Day. He wasn’t in, but I got his phone number.

Off to the Rotary Club of Kumasi East meeting. Near the end of our very lively meeting, during the “Anything Good for Rotary” I wished my fellow members a Happy International Noise Awareness Day saying, “I just wanted to make you aware that it is International Noise Awareness Day and let me say that we have been celebrating in style during this meeting.” And I got a big laugh and applause!”

At home, I phoned the Regional Director of the Envirinmental Protection Agency who was very happy to hear that the local officer handled the issue and that he hoped The View would continue to comply. Then I phoned Mr Adams who was in Accra. I wished him a Happy International Noise Awareness Day and reminded him that I hadn’t received a copy. Mr Adams was aware of this and said he would follow-up.

Then I phoned the Assistant Chief Environmental Health officer for the entire city where the Noise Control Unit is located. Somebody picked up the phone, but there was no greeting. Nobody answered. This is the office that receives complaints…maybe that’s why?

So, I texted “HAPPY INTERNATIONAL NOISE AWARENESS DAY FR FOUR VILLAGES INN!” AND TO YOU AS WELL!

http://www.chchearing.org/noise-center-home/international-noise-awareness-day

