Picking up the pieces

Posted on July 21, 2014

0


Back in May I had an article entitled “Ghana needs to review its visa requirements for tourists published on the Supersteel Africa site. Some great stuff on that site if I do say so myself….

Like this article entitled “Leaders need to do more than attend summits; they need to produce change”. I agree!

But change won’t happen if people don’t push for it. And since my last post, complacent Ghana has been hopping…at least on social media. There’s all kinds of #hashtags# rallying people to get up off their you-know-whats, #s like:

#‎redfriday‬ ‪#‎ghanastandup‬ ‪#‎ghanamustworkagain‬ ‪#‎occupyflagstaffhouse ‬‪#‎occupyparliament‬ (and I am sure there are others.

And internet activity is sure to translate into action…like this Thursday the TUC is organizing a nationwide strike under the #blackthursday.

So it’s a time of action…this blog included.

The silence here on @madinghana since May 20, has been deafening in my heart and mind…I am usually so prolific as the stats reveal…but I guess writers’ fatigue set in and crippled my ability to write extended pieces. So I joined the sound bite generation and fell into FACEBOOK AND TWITTER focusing on pushing for change in Ghana’s tourist visa regulations….where I have been prolific as the record will bear me out. Check out the facebook group SCRAP SHORT TERM TOURIST VISAS TO GHANA and the twitter handle @visafreeghana…PLEASE JOIN ME THERE!