OF GUEST BOOKS AND CRIME

Posted on August 10, 2009

0


Thomas Triesh alive and signing the Four Villages Guestbook

Thomas seemingly unscathed and signing the Four Villages guest book

Here’s Thomas from Munich, Germany signing our guest book. It’s about quarter to six on  Sunday morning August 9. Given the hour,  Thomas has just enjoyed a modified breakfast of freshly brewed coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice along with fruit salad and toast. Thomas is all set to be driven in the Four Villages Inn Toyota Venture to the S.T.C. terminal to catch his 7:00 a.m. bus to Cape Coast.

What’s the big deal you may ask? Well it’s a new guest book. The old one, a big one with a kente cover lasted exactly nine years.

Here’s what Thomas wrote: “It was just wonderful. I enjoyed FOUR VILLAGES INN so much. THANK YOU!!!

So now you might be asking about the caption , Seemingly unscathed! Why seemingly unscathed ? Allow me to explain.

Thomas, like so many Four Villages Inn guests, stayed with us for three nights from Monday, August 3rd leaving Thursday the 6th for Tamale, where he would overnight to take an early morning bus the next day to Mole National Park. Thomas booked his room at Four Villages on his return trip to the coast before going.

Well here’s the shocker…..little did I know, but on the 3rd of August, a report on the subject of crime in Tamale was posted on the Bradt Guide to Ghana update site-see my blog roll for the philipbriggs site. I read it on Sunday afternoon the 9th after Thomas had left.

I guess nothing untoward happened to Thomas. At least I think nothing happened to Thomas. He did phone on Friday evening  to say he would be back a day early as there was no room at Mole….

I feel so bad I didn’t check the update site. I do more often now as I can get to it through the blog…

Well to appease my overactive conscience, I e-mailed the Ghana Tourist Board directing their attention to the report-in case they hadn’t seen it. And, as Special Assistant to the Chairman of the Ghana Hotels Association here in Ashanti,  I drafted a letter, attached the report, cleared the communication with my chairman, and sent  an email to all the members, potential members and friends of the association here in Ashanti recommending that they bookmark and check the site often, inform staff, and perhaps create a little notice…

Following this post, I’ll e-mail Thomas directing him to this post on the blog and wait for his reply